All Collections
Workspaces
Managing the members of your Workspace
Managing the members of your Workspace

Add and remove the people in your workspace, or assign them admin rights

Andy avatar
Written by Andy
Updated over a week ago

When you create a workspace, you’ll be able to add more members to it, if you would like to.

There are four main ways of managing your workspace members:

  • by adding further seats in the Billing tab of your Account settings and invite members to your team through the Manage members page,

  • by adding members to your team from the Guest list,

  • by creating an invitation link to add multiple members at once,

  • by making your workspace discoverable.

The owner of the workspace can add further seats in the Billing tab of your Account settings. You may also wish to grant admin rights to any members of your workspace or choose to remove any workspace members who no longer need access to the team workspace, library and template collection.

To manage the members of your workspace, click on Account settings at the dropdown menu underneath your account photo:

And then click on the Members tab on the left:

Adding members to your team

On the Members tab of your workspace account page, you can invite your colleagues to join your workspace by clicking on the ‘Add Member’ button. If your colleagues already have a SessionLab account and you’ve collaborated with them on a session previously, then their name will appear when you begin to type it in the search bar. If not, you will need to type their full email address.

If they don’t yet have a SessionLab account, then your invitation email will ask them to first create an account. When they create an account with the email address you invited, they will automatically get access to your team workspace.

On this same tab you see an overview of your team members’ invitation status to your team and their contribution to the team’s private library:

  • How many sessions they have created in the team workspace (Sessions Owner)

  • To how many sessions they are invited with editor rights in the team workspace (Sessions Editor)

  • To how many sessions they are invited with viewer rights in the team workspace (Sessions Viewer)

  • How many methods they have added to your team’s private library (Methods Created)

  • The date they were added to the Team (Joined Date)

If you have a large number of members in your team, you can use the search bar to search for a specific team member’s statistics.

You can also add members to your team from your workspace's Guest list.

How can I invite multiple users to my Team workspace at once?

If you would like to add a number of members to your Team, but you don’t want to invite them each individually, you can create an invitation link to your Team workspace, which will allow anyone with the link to join your SessionLab Team.

First, you should head to your Account setting page in drop-down menu on the upper right-hand side and then go to your Members page.

In order to create an Invitation link, click on the ‘Add Member’ button (in order to do this, you’ll need to be the owner/admin of the team).

Choose the Invitation Link tab and copy the invitation link.

You can now send this link to individuals you wish to join your workspace. When the person you invited clicks on the invitation link, they will be added to your workspace after they sign in (if they have a SessionLab account already), or redirected to the Sign Up page in order to create a SessionLab account first. After this, they will be added to your workspace.

You can disable the Invitation Link at any time, by following the same steps and clicking the ‘Disable invitation link’ option under the URL.

How to make your workspace discoverable

If you would like to make it easier for your colleagues to join your team in SessionLab, you can also enable your workspace to be discoverable.

Domain capture with SSO

Users on the Business or Enterprise plan also have the option to turn on the Domain capture feature if using SSO. This is where users from your chosen domain will be automatically added to an existing workspace and wouldn’t be able to create a separate SessionLab account, so long as they sign up with that domain. In order to activate or turn on this option, please get in touch with our support team.

How do I assign admin rights or remove team members?

At the same place on your Members page, you are able to assign admin rights to any of your workspace members or remove them from the workspace altogether. Admins are able to invite further members to the workspace, change the logo and edit the default category colors which are added to new sessions created in your team workspace.

Change rights

If you remove a member from your workspace, you will be able to choose from 3 options regarding how they should keep (or not keep) having access to the sessions they created. They can remain an editor or viewer to the sessions, or lose access entirely to the sessions they created.

In either case, if you remove a workspace member, the ownership of their sessions will be automatically transferred to you, so their sessions won’t be lost.

Remove a member from your team

Did this answer your question?