A workspace is where the content you create in SessionLab lives.
When you sign up to SessionLab, you get access to a workspace by default.
If you sign up because you were invited to join someone else’s workspace, then you will join that workspace. If you don’t sign up from an invitation, then you’ll first get to create your own workspace.
If you create your own workspace, you are also able to invite any collaborators or colleagues to join your workspace via the ‘Invite members’ button on your dashboard or from the ‘members’ tab of the workspace settings.
Imagine the workspace as a root folder that contains all the sessions and library resources and templates you and your colleagues create in the application.
When you invite someone to your workspace, that person will be able to access your workspace and all the content in it.
The sessions you create in the workspace are by default visible to all your fellow team members, and you can still invite other people to individually collaborate on specific sessions.
Can I have multiple workspaces?
Every user has one opportunity to create their own workspace in SessionLab with a free trial period. You are also able to have additional paid workspaces without any limitation on how many workspaces you may be a member of.
Therefore, if you have already created your own workspace when you signed up to SessionLab, you need to upgrade to a paid plan if you wish to create additional workspaces.
In case you created your account because you were invited to another user’s workspace, then you still have an opportunity to create an additional workspace, without needing to upgrade that workspace. Any further workspaces you create will require you to upgrade when creating that workspace.
If you are a member of a company account with a Business or Enterprise subscription, this allows you to create additional workspaces without any limitations.
If you wish to create additional workspaces, you can do so from the dropdown menu on the left of the homepage:
Your workspace views in more detail
Once you’ve logged in, you will see a dedicated view for each of your workspaces in the left sidebar, each accessible via the dropdown menu.
You can see the content you have access to in the following views:
Recents view: shows you your most recently modified sessions from all of the workspaces you have access to.
This view only displays your 24 most recently modified sessions.
The folders you may have created in your workspaces aren’t displayed here, and you also cannot create folders while being in the Home view. It is just a shortcut to access your most recent sessions.
The Home view shows only those sessions where you are invited as a collaborator. (While in your Team’s workspace view, you can see all sessions under your Team account, even if you are not invited to the session as a collaborator)
Your workspace view: Every SessionLab user has a workspace by default.
All your sessions are created here by default
You may create folders within your workspace to organise your sessions.
Sessions you create in your workspace are accessible to you, to the collaborators you invite to your sessions, and to anyone you invite as a team member to your workspace.
Navigating between your workspaces
You can toggle between your workspaces using the dropdown menu on the left side of an workspace:
Switching between grid and list view on your dashboard.
Aside from the default grid layout to display the sessions on your dashboard, you can choose to switch to a list layout to display your sessions and their main details in a list view.
In the list view, your sessions are shown in a table so it’s easier to have an overview of your sessions, tags, and client at a glance. In the list view, the sessions will be ordered by the most recently edited at the top of the list.
Always stay up-to-date with what’s happened in your sessions: an activity indicator marks your session with a small orange dot if it has been edited by your colleagues while you were away.
Activity indicator in workspace: list view
Activity indicator on session card: grid view
Managing the members of your workspace
In the workspace that you own, you can add more members to it, if you would like to. You may also wish to grant admin rights to any members of your workspace or choose to remove any workspace members who no longer need access to the workspace, library and template collection.
You can read more about managing the members of your workspace here.
If you would like to make it easier for your colleagues to join your team in SessionLab, you can also enable your workspace to be discoverable. Learn more about making your workspace discoverable here.
Your workspace members management area also allows you to see the list of “Guests” on your workspace. Here you can get an overview of collaborators you’ve invited to one or more sessions on your workspace. This will help you get a quick overview of who you collaborate most frequently with so you can evaluate if you want to add them to your team.
If you would like to invite a Guest to your workspace to join as a member, you can do so from the guest list.
Collaborators and guests can also be removed from all the sessions they’re invited through the same menu. Clicking on the ‘Remove’ option will remove that collaborator from all the sessions they were added to as an editor or a viewer.
You can also see an overview of how many sessions you’ve invited each collaborator to. Clicking on the number in the ‘Sessions Joined’ column will show you which specific sessions that person is a collaborator on, allowing you to manage their access to each individual session.