As a Basic or Pro user of SessionLab, you have access to one workspace: your Personal workspace. As a consequence of this, all the sessions you create will automatically be created in your Personal workspace.
If you create a session while being in the Recent view, the session will automatically be placed in your Personal workspace. If you create a session while being in a folder in your Personal workspace, then the session will be created in the folder.
Don’t worry, you can easily move your session within your folder structure, see more information here.
If you are a member of a Team in SessionLab, then you also have access to the Team’s workspace, as well as your own Personal workspace. In this case, if you are in the Recent view, the default workspace where your sessions get created is your Team’s workspace.
If you are not in the Recent view, but either in your Team’s or your Personal workspace, or any of their subfolders, then the session you create will get created at the workspace and folder where you were located when pressing the New Folder button.
Every session created under the Team’s workspace will be visible with viewer rights to all members of the team.
How can I see which workspace a session of mine belongs to?
If you are viewing either your Personal or Team workspace, then naturally you only see the sessions belonging to that workspace. However, you might ask, how do I know which workspace my session belongs to if I am in the Recent view or if I have already opened the session?
You can find the answer in the collaborators’ list. If you see a Team logo listed among the collaborators, it means that the session belongs to that team’s workspace. If you do not see a Team logo among the collaborators, it means that the session can be found at your Personal workspace.
You also can find the same information if you open the session in the Session Planner, and navigate to the Collaborator tab on the right side menu:
You can see on the image above that this session belongs to the workspace of “The A-Team”, and therefore all members of the team account have the right to view this session.